Skip to main content

Who We Are

Our Mission: To promote the conservation of soil, water, and other natural resources in the San Luis Rey and Santa Margarita watersheds through effective planning that ensures a healthy ecosystem and provides economic benefits and quality of life for landowners/land occupants and the general public.
Historical image of agricultural land in Mission RCD's district in North San Diego County.
Historical view of agricultural land

Mission RCD is a California independent special district established in 1944 that promotes and supports the conservation of water, soil, and other natural resources and addresses wildfires and climate change in the North San Diego County region.  We work with farmers, residents, landowners/land occupants, local governments, public agencies, and nonprofit and community organizations (among others) to provide unique “boots on the ground” technical assistance, programs, services, education, and training.  Mission RCD serves as a “connector” to bring together various nonprofit and community organizations, government entities, and federal and state partners and programs to promote voluntary conservation efforts in our community. 

Our district includes unincorporated land, including the communities of Bonsall, Fallbrook, Rainbow, and De Luz, as well as the City of Oceanside.  A five-member Board of Directors serves as the governing body for the District.  

Join our mailing list